Skip to content
December 23, 2009 / Dan

Words

Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep. – Romans 12:15

Recently, I’ve had trouble finding the words to say. Not in normal circumstances – then I can always crack a joke or say something that I think is smart.

No, the times that I have trouble finding words are the difficult times.

As we grow older, we start to experience more of life’s difficulties. You start to develop deep, meaningful relationships with people outside of your family. And those people experience life’s difficulties.

So many times I find myself at a loss.

What do I say to the girl I went to high school with at her mom’s funeral? What do I say to the friend whose husband decided to leave her 2 weeks before Christmas? What do I say to the young teenage girl whose mother attempts suicide? What do I say to the couple who brighten my day, but want so badly to have children and can’t? What do I say to dear friends who are going through something so horrible that I find it difficult finishing my workday thinking about it?

As Christ-followers, we have a hope. But all of these people know that. Quoting scripture to these people is preaching to the choir. All of them know there will come a day when there is no more death, no more depression, no more hurt.

What do I say in the meantime? How do I convey that when I’m alone, that I weep for their weeping?

Somehow – in the really difficult times – “I love you, I’m praying for you, I hurt for you” just doesn’t seem to cut it.

Romans 8:26 tells us that when we cannot find the words to pray, the Holy Spirit talks to the Father for us with “groanings too deep for words”.

I wish we could tell those groanings to one another.

