Skip to content
September 14, 2008 / Dan

Cords

We have a lot of gadgets at our house. Or I should say I have a lot of gadgets at our house.

Two cell phones, three iPods, a PSP, a Nintendo DS, two digital cameras, three laptops, a digital video camera, and a breast pump.

All these gadgets lead to a lot cords. A lot of cords. It has gotten pretty bad, to the point where it’s tough to find a free outlet to plug anything in. (A definite first world problem.) We’ve also been having more friends with kids over for dinner and whatnot, and children who can walk around the house like to find cords to play with. And it won’t be long before Rabun will be able to do the same.

A while ago I read about a DIY gadget charging center and had been looking for a box to make it happen for a while and just haven’t been able to find the perfect match. Well, today, Jessica mentioned it again (with tears… long story involving not enough sleep) and I decided it was time to do something about it. When Jessica left to visit her grandparents this afternoon I headed to Walmart. 

I walked around for a while and finally decided that I would just have to settle for a plastic Rubbermaid container. But I made one last trip down the bathroom aisle and saw a wicker toilet tissue container. Using wicker for this has a couple of advantages:

  1. No drilling, just slide the cords through the wicker.
  2. Ventilation and air flow means less heat.
  3. It cost $6.

I got the wicker toilet tissue holder, a power strip, and some three outlet to one outlet adapters (just in case I needed some help fitting all the cords onto the power strip). I spent $23.26 at Walmart. When I got home I grabbed some zip ties and this is what I started with.

Before

After about 20 minutes fiddling with cords and zip ties, I managed to get everything into the container and packed away. I now have this.

After

Overall I was pretty happy with the way it turned out and Jess was very happy when she got home and there weren’t cords everwhere. And there was much rejoicing.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Patrick Gillen / Sep 14 2008 11:37 pm

    The breast pump is yours too?

  2. Dan / Sep 15 2008 6:19 am

    No, the breast pump is Jessica’s. As well as 1 iPod, 1 Laptop, 1 Digital Camera, and 1 Cell Phone. But as you can see, the majority of the clutter is mine.

Leave a Reply

