Skip to content
July 20, 2007 / Dan

New D40

I have been looking for a DSLR for a while now, and was very seriously considering the D80. (In fact, if J&R Music and Computer World had shipped it to me in one day like they said they would, I would have a D80. Long story short, just don’t order from J&R if you’ve got a P.O. Box as your billing Address.) Based on reviews and opinions from Ken Rockwell I decided that the best thing to do was to start out with a D40 and if I eventually felt like I needed more to skip the D80 entirely and go straight to the D200. This made sense to me, so (at 1/2 the price of the D80) I ordered the D40 from Amazon.

I’ve really enjoyed it so far, although I’ve justed started to really understand all the features and benefits. Jessica already knows she has got to move a lot quicker if she doesn’t want me to catch that dirty look she shoots me.

This was the first photo I was really happy with coming out of the camera.  Since it, I’ve formed the opinion that the White Balance setting is about the most important one to make pictures look (to my untrained eye) decent. White balance along with exposure compensation are the settings I’m messing with the most.

Fortunately, the dogs are pretty willing subjects for practicing with the new camera. Jessica (understandably) gets a little tired of me trying to take pictures of her.

Of course one of my favorite features of the camera is ability to shot 2.5 FPS until the memory card fills up. With a SanDisk Extreme II card the buffer gets down to about 8 shots left, but I can’t get it any lower than that shooting jpegs.

I’ve also enjoyed playing around with depth of field in A mode. Most of the time the camera stays in P mode though. So far, I’ve taken the advice of people much more experienced than I am and stayed away from the “Digital Vari-Program” modes.

One of the things that bother me about the camera (and one of the main reasons I was going to get a D80) is the lack of a focus motor in the body. Of course this saves tremendously on size, but I would probably already have the 50mm f1.8 Nikkor lens on order except it would only be manual focus.

One other thing I’ve noticed, and this could just be my experience, is that the card door pops open a little easy for my taste. I think that’s happened twice to me, and it scares me every time cause I think how easy it would be to break it off.

All in all, I’m really happy with the purchase and think it was a great decision.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lara / Jul 23 2007 11:00 am

    love the pics with your new d40. M and i obviously need a tutorial from you.

  2. Dan / Jul 23 2007 12:21 pm

    I’m not sure how much of a tutorial I could give, but I’d be happy to goof off with your camera too!

Leave a Reply

